About me.

Hey guys, this one’s going to be a little different, I feel like I owe you as I haven’t been able to do a review in a week. So, I’m going to do a small thing about myself today and then back to normal with a Game of Thrones review tomorrow.

Family:

I’m really close with my home family, I live with my mother and two younger brothers, one aged eight and one that’s ten this coming Saturday. Me and my mum have a really close relationship, sometimes I feel like me and her are really just best friends, we hang out at home watching TV, we go to the cinema, we go for meals and many other things. As with any mother though, there is that boundary of things you can’t say to each other, but me and her manage to make a joke out of it and I like that.

My brothers are my world, literally, I can’t get rid of them. I’m kidding, I pick them up from school most days and we enjoy our thirty minute hike home and just make jokes and play silly Harry Potter games. Then when we are home I’ll either sit with Aidan (the soon to be ten year old) and help him play his guitar or I’ll play fight with Allister (the eight year old). I also have a third brother who is thirteen years old, me and him have a good relationship, however he lives with his father and I wish I could see him more.

Hobbies:

I don’t really have any active hobbies such as sports but I really enjoy watching football, I’m a Chelsea supporter and it was a little difficult to support them this season. My main hobbies include reading, review writing, short stories, song writing and watching too many TV programmes.

Favourite book:

This is really difficult because it changes all the time. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is a flawless read and concludes the series so well, It’s a book I feel like I could pick up and read at any time. However, as I’m getting older I find that my taste is changing and I’m starting to like darker, grittier and more intense books such as Game of Thrones. It’s hard to chose a favourite from the series but it would probably be A Feast for Crows because it’s so different in tone to the other books and I found it quite refreshing. In the summer time I do find myself loving some casual escapism such as Hunger Games, Divergent or City of Bones.

Favourite TV show:

Again, this is difficult because my favourite TV show right now is beyond different to my favourite show of all time.

The best show on television right now is Game of Thrones, hands down. I got so attached to the show so quickly because of the books and I loved it, the casting for the show is absolutely sensational and how far the show has come is mind blowing. It’s so different to everything else on TV and people are going to try and copy it for decades to come but nothing will come close, Game of Thrones is arguably the greatest show of all time and is definitely my favourite right now.

My favourite TV show of all time simply has to be The Vampire Diaries. I had real dark period when I was about thirteen and Vampire Diaries kind of gave me something to hold on to, I bonded with the characters and just lost myself in this world. Sometimes it was surreal how much the situations on the show were similar to what I was facing in real life, obviously without the Vampires. I always saw myself as Damon Salvatore because when we first meet him he’s in such a dark place and finds it really difficult in succeeding to redeem himself and I could relate to that, all the bad things he did I could relate to and when he eventually became a better person I tried to do that to. In many ways I became fictional because I was leading the life of a fictional character, I was lonely and that show gave me something I never had before, it felt really close. Even if the show has lost some of it’s way I will watch it until it’s end because of how much it truly means to me.

There are many other TV shows I watch such as Arrow, The Flash, Legends of Tomorrow, The Originals, Vikings, anything Marvel on Netflix, Supernatural, The Walking Dead, Suits and Pretty Little Liars. I’ve already finished some great shows like True Blood, Sons of Anarchy, Hemlock Grove, and White Collar.

At some point I’ll get round to reviewing them all, it’s a lot to review.

Favourite TV character:

We’re going to exclude Damon Salvatore from the list because that’s basically cheating.

I have lots of characters that I really love and connect to. I adore Castiel from Supernatural because he has grown so much over the years and has these moments of comedy that have me crying of laughter, he’s great. Jon Snow is another worthy candidate, he’s arguably the most important person in Game of Thrones and his storyline is a joy to read and watch, I really like him. Who else, ummmm, I really like Spencer Hastings from Pretty Little Liars, she’s a beautiful woman with some really dark moments which I always find entertaining, she is also too smart for her own good which makes her funny, she’s an amazing character.

Out of these three I’d probably pick Castiel because I’ve been watching him for the longest and he is just a marvellous character and all credit to the writers who have been developing his story arch over the years.

Favourite movie:

Picking a favourite film is always so difficult because there are so many good ones in the world!

I can’t pick one so here’s a few:

  • The Dark Knight is an almost perfect movie, the plot is pretty flawless and the characters are spot on. The late Heath Ledger will be sorely missed as his interpretation of the Joker is something to be seen, truly legendary.
  • I think Inception is a great movie because it is so different to anything I’ve ever seen, I had to watch it a few times just to understand what I just saw and the scale of the events that took place.
  • American Psycho is a fantastic movie, it’s so out there and weird that it’s truly fantastic. Sometimes it’s uncomfortable to watch which makes it even better and one of my favourite things in a movie is a confusing ending and American Psycho certainly has one of those.
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban will always be one of my favourite movies of all time because it’s my favourite Potter film and those films will always have a place in my heart. I was never much in to Star Wars or Lord of the Rings, I’m a Harry Potter kid.

 

I’m going to end it here otherwise I could be going on for a few more thousand words. I really enjoyed writing this today, It’s nice to put a bit of myself out there for all to see and now you know a bit more about the person who writes the reviews.

I may do another one like this in the not too distant future.

Thanks for reading guys, hope you enjoyed.

Baitkinblog.

My Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Baitkinblog/

My Twitter: https://twitter.com/aitken_billy

 

 

Leave a Reply

